Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Foundation Stage Unit

Welcome to our Foundation Stage Unit. 
The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.
Development Matters in the EYFS
This is the framework that we base our curriculum around and it supports us to assess learning. It has been updated and amended in 2021.
Please follow the link below to read the Development Matters framework:
Prime areas:
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Another key ingredient to a good EYFS curriculum is the recognition of the Characteristics of Effective Learning.
Curriculum newsletters are sent home to parents every half term. These provide parents with key dates, details of what your child will be learning within the half termly topics and ways to support your child at home. You can find these newsletters on the EYFS class page.
Read Write Inc.
 At Our Lady and St Patrick's school we aim for our children to become fluent and passionate readers.
We achieve this through:
- Read, Write Inc., a programme to help your child read at school.
- Encouraging children to develop a love for books by reading to them daily, at home and at school.
- Ensuring that children have access to a wide range of groups
What is Read Write Inc.?
Read Write Inc. is a phonics complete literacy programme which helps all children  learn to read fluently and at speed so they can focus on developing their skills in comprehension, vocabulary and spelling. The programme is designed for children aged 4-7. However, at Our Lady and St Patrick's School we begin the programme in Nursery and will continue teaching RWInc to children beyond the age of 7 if they still need support in their reading.
RWInc was developed by Ruth Miskin and more information on this can be found at